#Trending Tuesday: Important Revelation I Made After Applying Eyeshadow

Hot Topics

Now, before you jump to conclusions based on the seemingly pretentious title, think about this: When was the last time you did something for YOU? 

Recently, I was watching some Gossip Girl, sitting in my room while my parents entertained guests downstairs, and dreaming off in my own world. I tend to do that a lot. Just sit by myself and enjoy my own company. And, maybe I watched one too many episodes of GG, but I decided I was going to do my makeup and put on a fancy dress and just dance around my room. And I did just that. I put on eyeshadow, blue and brown on one eye, purple and shimmery white on the other. I felt like a princess. I carefully applied pink lip gloss. I put on my red winter ball dress. And I danced around my room. I danced and twirled until I was dizzy. And it felt great. I was smiling. The whole time. Doing something for myself, even if no one was going to see me, was so fun. I took a few selfies because I almost never wear eyeshadow, and I almost never take selfies. I keep these photos for myself. Because when I look at them, I feel happy. I don’t need to document everything on camera and send it to social media to be happy. I did it for myself. For my joy and satisfaction. I felt beautiful. And you know what? No matter how ridiculous this story may sound, it was fun. I challenge you, reader, to do something for yourself. To not Snapchat or Instagram it. You don’t necessarily need to give yourself a makeover. Sometimes all you need o do is have 5 minutes to yourself. We usually don’t give ourselves permission to do things that might not be socially accepted (of course, don’t go murdering anyone now that you read this). But often, what is a little outrageous is usually just what we need to take a break from everyday life. Happiness really is a worthwhile goal. Take 30 minutes each week to do something by yourself. Go to dinner by yourself and don’t touch your phone. See that movie none of your friends want to watch. Do what you want. Do it for your happiness. ❤

Leave a Reply

