#TrendingTuesday: Is It Real?

Hot Topics

  
They say not to believe everything you see on the Internet. 

That the Internet is not reality.

Let’s talk about Instagram. Is it real? Are the colorful, visually appealing pictures on a person’s feed their world? 

The answer is no. The truth is, we only post what we want the world to see. We don’t snap pics of our faces at 1 am while we study for chemistry tests. 

But does that mean that what I  choose to show my followers is a lie? 

Think about it. 

Today I am going to share some things that I wouldn’t usually post on my Instagram.

About 6 weeks before this, you wouldn’t know that I stayed up till midnight almost every night to prepare for violin auditions. I didn’t show you the hours I stayed up with my violin and metronome, when everyone in my house was asleep. (I love my violin, but when it’s 11 and I still have to practice another hour, sleep is the only thing on my mind.)

I don’t show you my undereye circles, which keep getting darker.  

I didn’t show you the three breakdowns I have had just in the past few weeks of school over all the stress and pressure to do well, not just in school but in every aspect of my life. 

I am tired. 
And I still haven’t said everything going through my mind. Because it’s hard to talk about our problems.

But does that mean the photos I do post are fake? Are we all phonies?

I don’t think so. We post what we love. We post our passions- things that we can look at, no matter what it is, and feel an emotion. Happy? Inspired? It’s up to the person. The most important thing is to stay true to yourself, online and in real life.

When I post pictures on social media, I hope I can connect with someone. I try to post things that are colorful, fun, and remind me of my dreams.  I love fashion. I love music. I love my friends, my family, and life. In being true to myself, I hope that what I offer can inspire someone else to go after their goals, whatever those may be.  

We post what we want the world to see. 

What kind of message are you sending? ❤ 

  

Instagram: @lovelulugloss

Leave a Reply

